Rukundo’s 24 points headlines IPRC-South victory against Espoir


Fabrice Rukundo lifts up the IPRC-South first incredible victory of the 2017 National Basketball League Championship that kicked- off at Amahoro Stadium.

Rukundo scored 24 points in the IPRS-Souths’ 64-59 victory against Espoir, off the bench to become the top scorer of the game, while his teammate Bienvenu Niyonsaba had 19 points.

The Huye campus basketball team won the first quarter to lead by a point 14-13, however Espoir came back into the 2nd quarter to finish 16-15 as both sides tied on 29 points midway.

IPRC-South then came back strong to lead by 5 points (18-13) in the 3rd quarter, as both sides tied17-17 in final fourth quarter of the game.

IPRC-South in red against Espoir in the National Basketball league opener at Petit Amahoro Stadium. Courtesy

In the games, Patriots basketball club were too good for United General Basketball Club when they thumped them 82-66 in the final quarter, going to lead all throughout the quarters.

Aristide Mugabe scored 27 points; Sedar Sagamba had 19 points out of 82 while Amani D. of UGB has 19 points out of 66.

The other tightly competitive game saw IPRC-Kigali losing to APR basketball club by 3 points in the game that ended 81-84. Bruno Nyamwasa of IPRC-Kigali was the top scorer after scoring 25 points out of 81 points.



555 total views, 2 views today

Spread this story

Elias Hakizimana

Elias Hakizimana, CEO&Founder of The Inspirer Ltd,( is a professional Rwandan Journalist with Bachelor’s Degree in Journalism and Communication, received from University of Rwanda’s College of Arts and Social Sciences (CASS) in 2014. He served various media houses in Rwanda including Rwanda Broadcasting Agency (RBA) in 2013 and became passionate with English Online and Print Media Publications where he exercised his talent as a Freelance News Reporter for The New Times, The Independent, The Rwanda Focus, Panorama and more before he became a Self-Entrepreneur as the CEO and Founder of The Inspirer Limited in early 2017.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *