Rwandan Coach Antonio Hey names squad for CECAFA

By: Muha J.M.

Rwanda national team head coach Antoine Hey has named a 23-man squad for the 2017 CECAFA Senior Challenge Cup scheduled to kick-off on December 3, 2017

The German-born tactician announced his squad which is dominated by Peace Cup holders APR FC and league defending champions Rayon Sports FC last Friday.

In a press conference held on Saturday, Coach Hey told the media that the goal is win the CECAFA Senior Challenge title for Rwanda but admitted that his squad has to work hard to reach that success.

The Amavubi starts camp on Saturday at La Palisse Hotel in Nyamata with players from club (s) are not in league action while the rest of the players will join camp on Sunday following the climax of match day 8 of the Azam Rwanda Premier league to engage in preparations ahead of their CECAFA crunch opener against the Harambee stars of Kenya.

Also featuring in Rwanda’s group at the CECAFA Challenge Cup is Kilimanjaro Stars of Tanzania, the Zanzibar Heroes and guest team the Mediterranean Knights of Libya, who are also preparing for the 2018 CHAN finals in Morocco.

The CECAFA Senior Challenge Cup will be a good test for the Rwandan local players who will be seeking to impress in order to be selected on the final team for CHAN finals.

Apart from SC Kiyovu’s centre back Ally Mbogo who will be making his debut for Rwanda, the rest of the summoned players are familiar faces who were banked on during the preparations for the recent CHAN qualifiers against Tanzania, Uganda and Ethiopia respectively.

APR Fc’s recently signed right back Omborenga Fitina joins Antoine Hey’s squad after ending his Slovakia professional stint and will be a big boost in the defense makeshift of the Amavubi team.

Amavubi coach Antoine Hey briefed the media on Rwanda’s ambition at the Cecafa tournament on this Sunday; 11:30am at Amahoro stadium after the team’s first training session.

Rwanda Full 23-man squad

Goalkeepers: Kimenyi Yves (APR Fc), Nzarora Marcel (Police Fc) and Eric Ndayishimiye (Rayon Sports Fc)

Defenders: Rugwiro Herve (APR Fc), Omborenga Fitina (APR Fc), Imanishimwe Emmanuel (APR Fc), Manzi Thierry (Rayon Sports), Usengimana Faustin (Rayon Sports), Rutanga Eric (Rayon Sports), Kayumba Soter (AS Kigali), Iradukunda Eric (AS Kigali) and Mbogo Ally (SC Kiyovu).

Midfielders: Bizimana Djihad (APR Fc), Hakizimana Muhadjiri (APR Fc), Nshimiyimana Amran (APR Fc), Mukunzi Yannick (Rayon Sports), Manishimwe Djabel (Rayon Sports), Niyonzima Ally (AS Kigali) and Niyonzima Olivier (Rayon Sports).

Forwards: Nshuti Innocent (APR Fc), Sekamana Maxime (APR Fc), Mico Justin (Police Fc), Biramahire Abeddy (Police Fc)


1,059 total views, 1 views today

Spread this story

Elias Hakizimana

Elias Hakizimana, CEO&Founder of The Inspirer Ltd,( is a professional Rwandan Journalist with Bachelor’s Degree in Journalism and Communication, received from University of Rwanda’s College of Arts and Social Sciences (CASS) in 2014. He served various media houses in Rwanda including Rwanda Broadcasting Agency (RBA) in 2013 and became passionate with English Online and Print Media Publications where he exercised his talent as a Freelance News Reporter for The New Times, The Independent, The Rwanda Focus, Panorama and more before he became a Self-Entrepreneur as the CEO and Founder of The Inspirer Limited in early 2017.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *